Posted by: calderonfamily | November 2, 2009

Dia de los Muertos

HOW WE SPENT DIA DE LOS MUERTOS

Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead or All Souls’ Day) is a holiday celebrated on November 2nd in Mexico, Latin America and within Latino communities in the United States. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. Traditions include building private altars honoring the deceased, using sugar skulls, marigolds, and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed, and visiting graves with these as gifts.

Many people believe that during the Day of the Dead, it is easier for the souls of the departed to visit the living. People go to cemeteries to communicate with the souls of the departed, and build private altars, containing the favorite foods and beverages, as well as photos and memorabilia.

family photos  08-09 784

This summer I lost someone dear to my heart, my grandfather, Luis Nodal.  Born in Techaluta, Jalisco, he was the oldest of 5 children who lost their mother at a young age.  So his youth was spent  providing for his siblings and  trying to survive while his father worked in the US.   He joined his father in Chicago as a young man. He was eager to work in the Steel Mills and live the American Dream.  He settled in South Chicago and worked for US Steel.  He met my grandmother, Dolores Nodal, while living in “ Bush” and the rest is history.  He had 6 children, 17 grandchildren and 17 great grandchildren.  On July 23rd, 2009, he made his way back to my grandmother who had passed 16 years ago.

I was very close to my grandpa. I looked up to him all of my life for his amazing strength and courage.  I shared my grandfather’s love for “reading” and travel.  I admired his devotion to his family and his generous heart for those who were dear to him.

My grandpa had the pleasure of watching his children raise their own children and was a great source of help along the way.  He then got to see his grandchildren grow into adulthood and have children of their own.  My daughter, Alyssa, had the joy of knowing her great grandpa Luis and creating some memories of her own.  Although, he was not the grandfather of my days, every bit of time that my sweet Alyssa spent with him, was truly special.

So for Dia de los Muertos, I wanted to honor my grandpa and remind Alyssa about how lucky she was to get to know him.

We attended the Dia de los Muertos workshop at Rudy Lozano Library in Pilsen.  There we learned about making an alter and all the traditional ofrendas.  We, also, learned how to make a skeleton (Calaca) out of tissue paper to symbolize a deceased loved one.  Afterwards, we enjoyed some freshly baked ” pan de muerto.”

We then went home, talked about Grandpa Luis and continued to work on some crafts.


Responses

  1. Man, Mel I just started to remember my grandma and couldn’t help but cry. I like how you spent el dia de los muertos. : )

    • Agh, I know, but at least we had the joy of creating those memories that we can keep with us forever…and share our stories with our children.


Leave a comment

Categories